Many people learn by making mistakes, but not everyone internalizes lessons the first time. Some people make the same mistake multiple times or commit several similar mistakes that result in roughly the same consequences. The clearer the relationship between an action and a consequence and the worse the consequence, the more likely someone is to change the way they think or act.
Oftentimes, getting arrested for a driving under the influence (DUI) offense can be a profound wake-up call for the motorist involved. They may realize that one poor decision, possibly resulting from their social habits, could potentially affect their opportunities for the rest of their life. Still, it is actually very common for those arrested once for a DUI to eventually get arrested again. After all, such infractions often occur because someone may have issues controlling their alcohol consumption.
The penalties increase with each infraction
Someone’s second DUI offense that results in a conviction within five years of the first in Georgia carries at least 48 hours in jail, but a judge could sentence someone to up to 90 days or as much as a year. The driver will need to pay license fees and a fine of at least $600 but possibly as much as $1,000. They will also lose their driver’s license for three years and need to perform at least 30 days of community service.
A third offense within five years of someone’s second DUI will lead to at least 15 days in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. A judge can revoke their driver’s license for five years. The person convicted will also need to pay to have their name, photo and address published in the local newspaper. The state will also declare them a habitual offender.
The possibility of harsher penalties in the future is one common reason that people choose to fight back after an impaired driving arrest. Familiarizing oneself with possible penalties may help those considering their options after a recent Georgia DUI arrest.